PDA

View Full Version : Ranger Bass Boat Scam?????


Blarney413
03-17-2010, 12:28 PM
http://newjersey.craigslist.org/spo/1646380903.html

Is this a scam? I sent the lady some emails and she said that her husband died and she wants to get rid of the boat. It was on out craigslist but was deleted and I found it on a few others. She said the boat was with ebay's shipping department and the transaction would go through them.
Am I getting hosed over here ? Question1

BulldogBish
03-17-2010, 12:48 PM
yeah scam, most time when its too good to be true, it is. Looking for a truck, found many people selling cheap only to find they are in another state or country because of divorce, deployment, religous missions, always wanting to do the transaction through ebay. Ask indepth questions or say you have a freind in the area to look at it, more than likely they will give up on your money. Buncha scumbags

smallie_guy
03-17-2010, 04:18 PM
I don't know the prices of these boats, just not my thing. But anything with an asking price of $4408 would make me scratch my head for sure.Notsure

brookiemaster
03-17-2010, 04:27 PM
Ive seen similar things. Scam

YOTE BUSTER
03-17-2010, 05:08 PM
scam

outdoorev
03-18-2010, 05:59 PM
sounds fishy especialy free shipping go down there with cash. my buddies dads friend just picked up an 02 28' gradywhite on craigslist a month for 6000 with twin 225's because the kids father died. It was sitting in there barn for a few yrs and the kid didnt know anything about boats, he told him he thought his dad named it grady white. Title in hand and cleaned up and looks new now. wish i could find a deal like that.

Al-53
03-19-2010, 05:27 PM
Its a scam trust me that boat has been on several times and located in several states plus ebay has a notice out that they do not ship boats and cars ATVS or motorcycles off craigslist....
Last year a guy was selling a Can Am 4x4 ATV price was a dream I contacted him he happened to say he was 2 towns over i said good i will come with cash the next thing was it is not here its in Alaska he will ship it to me haha i asked for the title and any paper work on it he had none he wanted me pay for it and ship it to me haha right scammer

Al

dirtiegirtie
03-19-2010, 08:46 PM
It's a scam. If you find something on Craigslist in 'North Jersey' and the location on the specific ad is 'North Jersey', there's a good chance it's a scam. If you see it advertised for $4408 in 'North Jersey' and $4409 in 'Central Jersey' that's even more evidence it's a scam. The scammers vary the price by one digit so that c-list will allow them to put the same ad in hundreds of locations. Also, they are too lazy to look up a city in the area so they copy and paste the c-list location... and if the price is too good to be true and the two criteria above are met... then you can be 100% positive it's a scam.

Blarney413
03-19-2010, 11:09 PM
Thanks guys. I was pretty sure it was a scam but I just wanted to make sure. I'm going to swing by Action Marine this week and see what they can do for me. Cabela's sh!% the bed on what I was looking for. Plus Action is about 4 streets away from me.

outdoorev
03-20-2010, 11:07 AM
ive had goodluck with action go talk to paul